I Am My Mother’s Daughter.


(WARNING: THERE IS NO POINT TO THIS POST EXCEPT ME WANTING TO SHARE A GREAT NIGHT.)

Wow! What a night! People are surprised to see and hear what a hard-core Yankee fan I am. It’s in my DNA. Yes, my cells have pinstripes. My mom, who passed away in January 2009 LOVED the NY Yankees. She rarely missed a televised game. When I say, she loved the Yankees, I mean she loved the Yankees. When she passed away, we dressed her in her Yankee sweatshirt, ball cap and put a Derek Jeter card in with her. The funeral home was decorated in NY Yankees paraphenalia. Her casket even went out of the church to “Take Me Out To The Ball Game.” As sad as that day was, that moment made me smile. As a family, we honored her memory well.

She used to call me after every game and give me a play by play. Sometimes games weren’t over until after midnight on the east coast. If I started to fall asleep, she’d stop and wake me up. Thankfully, she didn’t start over. 🙂 My sister Mary Ann and my niece Lisa are also hard-core fans. So tonight, my SUPER-TUDE came out and I forgot all about cancer. I had a blast sitting with friends, jumping out of my seat, holding my breath and sometimes trying not to look. It was so much fun texting my niece and sister during the game and talking smack on Facebook about it. It felt like mom was right there with us yelling at the tv and praying for the win. It will be 10 years in January since my mom passed. Tonight in some strange way felt like a tribute to her.

In honor of my mom and my own love for the Yankees, I got all dressed up in my Yankee gear and headed out to a sports bar with friends, Rebecca and Sean to watch the game. My hubby took a photo of me that looks like one of the last photos I have of my mom. I call this photo, “I am my mother’s daughter.”

mom_yankee

Mom in 1999 with her 98 World Series shirt.

Diane-2009-Series-game-all-

I am my mother's daughter!

One Response

  1. I LOVE this story! Thank you for sharing this.

Leave a comment